We recognize professional excellence through the presentation of prestigious international awards.

The Lambda Alpha International awards honor men and women—both members and non-members—who have notably advanced the field of land economics through their achievements and service to their profession, community and chapter.  Awards including: Public Service Award, Urban Affairs Award, Journalism Award, Author Award, Richard T. Ely Distinguished Educator Award, Humanitarian Award, International Fellow Award, Edward L. Johnson Member of the Year Award, and the Skyline Award. https://www.lai.org/awards

We presented a special Baltimore Chapter Award to a very special Chapter Member at our Annual Dinner on November 15, 2017.

















Congratulations to our 2017 Chapter Member of the Year

Rachel Edds Awards Certificate

Congratulations to our 2017 Special Baltimore Chapter Award

Transform Baltimore Awards Certificate

Past LAI Baltimore Chapter Awardees:

The Baltimore Chapter Member of the Year Award

2017 Rachel Edds

2016 Josef Nathanson

2013 David Rudow

The International Member of the Year Award

This award is selected from Chapter nominations of Chapter Member of the Year honorees for the current or prior year by the International Awards Committee and will be based upon commitment to Lambda Alpha, to the nominee’s profession and to land economics with respect to achievement in the private or public sectors, research or education.

2010 Ackneil M. Muldrow II

The Richard T. Ely Distinguished Educator Award

This award is presented to the person who has achieved excellence within the academic world in the field of land economics or one of its constituent disciplines.

2007 Dr. Michael A. Anikeeff, Johns Hopkins University

The Gerald D. Hines International Humanitarian Award

This award is presented to a person who has or had a vision for what his or her community could become in the future, and the ability to see what was needed to achieve that vision, then marshaled the resources and helped direct the activity to accomplish the goal, often working behind the scenes and out of the public’s attention. That person most likely has also served as a mentor to other individuals who helped carry out the initial vision.

2001 Carl William “Bill” Struever